11 Favorite Albums/EPs

If you know me, you would know that I will probably sing to every song on the radio, every song you play on Pandora, and every song you will hear period. People are often really surprised that I know so many songs. I give all my credit to Spotify, Pandora, and 8 tracks really. Here are a few of my favorite albums. With that, I also included a few of my favorite songs from each album and my absolute favorite will be marked with an asterisk. Oh and a lyric I absolutely love, because it’s not just the notes that makes the song special.

1. The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill – Lauryn Hill (Lauryn Hill is known for her soulful voice and as a member of the Fugees. She also has ties to the Marley’s and displays very real messages in her music. This album speaks of love, motherhood, and a connection with the world around her.)

front

Favorite Songs: To Zion, Doo Wop (That Thing), Nothing Even Matters*

“I’ve never been in love like this before. Now let me pray to keep you from the perils that will surely come. See, life for you my prince has just begun.”

2. 19 – Adele (What a work of art. This album was made when Adele was only 19. I am 19 currently, and I am just amazed by the work of this woman at such a young age. In this album prepare to hear a lot of slow songs of a girl in and out of love and more experiences that come her way.)

41saknulxal

Favorite Songs: Hometown Glory, Daydreamer*, Crazy For You

“A jaw dropper. Looks good when he walks, is the subject of their talk. He would be hard to chase, but good to catch and he could change the world
with his hands behind his back.”

3. Don’t Kill the Magic – Magic (I commute to school, and nothing is better than the drive after ending my long school day listening to this album. Magic has a wonderful way of lifting their listeners’ spirits with every song they have. I can’t help but to smile and dance when I listen to their sweet reggae vibes. Definitely a sweet find!)

6121zzmk6jl-_sl1500_

Favorite Songs: Let Your Hair Down*, Don’t Kill the Magic, No Evil

“If you want love, you could have it. The way that you love, you could have it. If you want time, you could have it. I’ll tell you no lie, you could have it. Just don’t kill, don’t kill the magic!”

4. Keep The Quiet Out – JP Cooper (Have you ever listened to someone’s singing voice and muttered to yourself just a quite “how?” JP Cooper is for sure one of those kinds of artists. I am not exaggerating when I say JP Cooper has one of the most beautiful voices I have ever heard. Not only is he a great vocalist, but I also ask you all to take in his lyricism and instrumental ability as well. I would kill to hear this man live!)

artworks-000085816460-pw1q57-t500x500-e1406831275475

Favorite Songs: What Went Wrong, Colour Me in Gold***

“You colour me in gold. Lips like petals on my throat, and those fingertips like paintbrush strokes, paper boats softly floats like a song we wrote.”

5. Funhouse – P!NK  (Despite my insane love for Bruno Mars, I’d say P!NK’s Funhouse tour was the best concert I have ever been too. P!NK, herself, is a sassy, strong woman with a hell of a voice. This tour was unlike anything I’d seen before! Funhouse and circus themed sets, P!NK on silks being dipped into water when singing Glitter in the Air, everything. She is a talented woman and this album reminds me of that night.)

02

Favorite Songs: I Don’t Believe You, Crystal Ball, Glitter In the Air*

“Have you ever fed a lover with just your hands? Close your eyes and trust it, just trust it. Have you ever thrown a fist full of glitter in the air? Have you ever looked fear in the face and said I just don’t care?”

6. BEYONCÉ – Beyoncé (What’s a favorite album list without a little Beyoncé, am I right? Beyoncé is known for being a powerhouse in the music game and woman is not afraid to use her imagery to portray a message to her worldwide audience. This album, however, pulled out a much softer and sexier side. There are songs about her miscarriage, her new motherhood, how she transitions to a new stage in her life, and reminiscing of the old memories in her life. I enjoyed this album more than any other album of hers, in my opinion.)

2000px-Beyoncé_-_Beyoncé.svg

Favorite Songs: Heaven, Rocket**, Pretty Hurts

“Pretty hurts. Shine the light on whatever’s worse. Perfection is the disease of a nation.”

7. Love & War – Ross David  (A man spilling out his heart to a girl through music is something I always have a soft spot for when listening for new artists. I just find it so amazing how you can turn such real feelings into wonderful works of art. Ross David, even though his lyrics are simple, say all the things that a girl wants to hear. His classic love songs are sweet and beautiful.)

1200x630bf

Favorite Songs: Crazy in Common*, You’ve Got My Heart, Hero

“If beauty is to measure than baby let me measure. The sweetness of your smile, when worlds fall of your lips. We can stay together and we can be forever. I’ll always give you more, looking forward to your kiss.”

8. Is Your Love Big Enough – Lianne La Havas (I have the same description for this album as I did for JP Cooper’s. Lianne La Havas has a voice of an angel and leaves me breathless with her musicality. From the production to the vibe to the lyrics – everything about her music is unlike no other in my eyes. This album is about heartbreak. You can pull so much emotion out of her songs, and especially her live performances. Definitely a voice for the soul.)

618aNS9BR8L._SL1425_

Favorite Songs: Elusive, Lost & Found*, Au Cinema

“In his mind I’m proud to roam. He’s elusive and I’m awake. Defiantly real, there’s nothing fake. A mystery now to me and you. Open my eyes and I’m next to you.”

9. + – Ed Sheeran (Did I mention I have soft spot for artists who pour their heart out in songs? This should’ve been a given then, huh? People notice Ed Sheeran all over the world now for his chart toppers, but I really appreciate a lot of his songs that are not as well known. I don’t have to say much to convince you guys of how great of an artist he is, so just give his album a listen and try to focus on the songs that aren’t on the charts. You will all be pleasantly surprised.)

91Fu9FD9fYL._SL1425_

Favorite Songs: Autumn Leaves, Kiss Me*, Give Me Love***

“See I could do without a tan on my left hand, where my fourth finger meets my knuckle.
And I should run you a hot bath and fill it up with bubbles.”

10. In the Lonely Hour – Sam Smith (What’s funny is that I was a big fan of Sam Smith before he was popular and playing on the radio. I have been with him since his first EP Nirvana! I fell in love with the song Nirvana because it had such a great sound that I had never heard before. This album, he said, is very true to him. He relied on vocals and less on the production of it all, which is something I always commend! It takes a true artist to trust his/her voice and not fall back on crazy back tracks and voice tuning. He’s incredible live and you can hear a lot of my thoughts in the blog post I wrote after his concert! Tip: When listening to this album fully, take in the beauty of his slow ballads to hear what i’m talking about.)

Sam-Smith-In-The-Lonely-Hour-Vinyl-Album

Favorite Songs: Lay Me Down*, Not In That Way, Money on My Mind

“The moon, and the stars, are nothing without you. Your touch, your skin, where do I begin?
No words can explain, the way I’m missing you.”

11. If You Leave – Daughter (This album is amazing to listen to when you just want to lay in bed on a gloomy, rainy day. The lead singer has a something about her voice that makes me feel so relaxed and bit sleepy. In a good way of course! It’s all very poetic and soothing. For people who do not listen to indie folk all the time, this might sound a tad bit weird at first, but try to give it a listen.)

Daughter_If-You-Leave

Favorite Songs: Still, Shallows, Youth**

“And if you’re still breathing, you’re the lucky ones. ‘Cause most of us are heaving through corrupted lungs. Setting fire to our insides for fun.”

Singature

Leave a Reply

