New Space Inspiration

A great thing about getting closer to graduation is the intense future planning that comes with it! I love the fact that this time two years from now, I’ll be able to live completely on my own with a yearly salary. A few years down the line from that, I hope to get married and start a new place with my love. I find it amazing to have someone like my boyfriend that is open to traveling and open to change. With that mindset, I could be living across the country in five quick years. Who knows?

Yes, this sounds like naive wishful thinking BUT I truly am exciting for these changes to come about. It will allow me to run my life the way I see it with small things even down to plants behind the sink. So here are a few things I hope to incorporate in my new spaces that are quickly approaching.

Minimalism and Cleanliness 

The older I get, the less material things I accumulate. Okay, I do have a lot of makeup and clothes. But other than that, I keep my space pretty minimal. My first experience with dorming gave me the mindset of “hey, I actually don’t live off of much!” Since then, I try my hardest to trash what’s not needed and keep my space clean and simple.

Greenery and Wood

This might just be a personal preference, but I LOVE greenery. Anything from succulents to shrubs sets my soul at peace and adds so much to a room. Currently, I do not own any plants in my room other than the occasional flowers I get for birthdays, anniversaries, etc. I do, however, have an orb-like terrarium for succulents that i’m hoping to fill in the near future. Plants require natural light which is another BIG love of mine in a home. Plus, who wouldn’t like the extra oxygen 😉 Also, wood flooring adds such a nice, earthy tone to the space as well.

Loft-like 

Lofts are expensive. Especially when you’re thinking on a college student budget, a loft seems impossible. What many don’t know is that you can use your lofty style to incorporate into any home or apartment. I will definitely be looking at tons of interior design magazines and Pinterest boards before buying anything. Try more industrial pieces into incorporate into your house.

White Walls and Bases

White walls and bases speak new beginnings. I think a plain white wall has so many possibilities such as wall art, bedding themes, living themes, etc. In addition, white is a color of cleanliness! Just make sure to not touch the walls all the time.

A Few Comfy Accent Pieces 

As you can see in the bottom right picture, little fun things like a hammock or even a rug in the bottom left and middle pictures make the sterile-looking place a bit more homey. I want to add comfy pieces, but I feel like I want to save most of these pieces for a home where I would like the raise a family. When i’m young and busy, I will try more for a clean, modern space.

So what do y’all think? You like? Feel free to send me some inspiration or even your own inspiration!

2 thoughts on “New Space Inspiration

Leave a Reply

