2016 Try-age + Inspiration

Is try-age a word? Well it is now!

Oh, it is that time of year again! You know I could go on a rant like all the other “out of the box” bloggers and talk about how it’s pointless to set goals when they will never be met, but I truly TRULY believe my new year’s resolutions will be met this year. With all the things that have been happening lately, I find myself adjusting into this new adulthood mindset. I am now excited about things like photography, literature, fashion – things that are universal and timeless. My interests are shifting and I find myself either making friends with either older young adults or young adults that are at the same maturity level as mine. I am focusing on a dream, a direction. I also realize how important little goals are to make, and what impact it can make on my life. I am ultimately on the pursuit of building and growing into the best version of myself possible and am pursuing a life full of interest and inspiration. So, what’s better than making a few goals or at least a list of things to try?! Here are the activities and actions I wish to partake in this year (as well as Game Plans as to how I will incorporate these things into my life):

1. Project Life 

This project is BEAUTIFUL and I am excited to start it this year. I curse Pinterest for getting me hooked on pins about Project Life! I am stunned by how great these blogger’s spreads are. So inspired to create one of my own. So in a nutshell, Project Life is a creative form of pocket scrapbooking created by the one and only Becky Higgins. There are core kits, albums, pocket pages, and tools galore to fit your specific style and need. I have scrapbooked before in my younger years, and visual design as well as photography are areas that I was ALWAYS interested in. Above are three sample spreads that will give you an idea of what I project like this looks like.

GAME PLAN – There are millions of ways to approach Project Life, but I found a set up that will keep me on track and will not take too much time and money. As you can see from the spread all the way to the right, the blogger has one spread a week. This is the way Project Life was created to be at first. I sadly cannot do this weekly no matter how much I want to . I’m a college student! The time and money is always a problem. However, I am modifying this project by creating two spreads (left and right) a month. I figured I could start the first spread as a welcoming into 2016 that way I can have a left and right for each month. On the monthly spread, I will include pictures, written entries, and decorative cards to fill the pockets.

2. Minimalism

Dorming for two years taught me this one! When you live majority of the year in a dorm, you realize how little can you live off of. I found tons of clothes I didn’t use, knick knacks that I no longer felt were important, etc. Living life simply became much more of a calming tool than anything for me. Every thing had a value and had a specific place – nothing was crowded. This is a lifestyle I am trying to implement into several aspects. Now I shop a minimalistic kind of style, minimalize my shower and skin routine, and is generally more attracted to simplicity. Let’s see how this goes!

GAME PLAN – First thing on the to do list: deep clean my bedroom. Man the bedroom and closet need it the most. Another deep cleaning medium – my computer! The school semester creates many many many files in my computer that need cleaning out and my interest in photography now fills my storage in my iPhoto. I am planning on hard resetting my computer. Also, after deep cleaning, I will begin to remind myself not to hoard nonsense and will create a more minimalistic mindset going forth.

3. Centering Myself on Christ

BIG GOAL HERE. For the past few years, I have been drawn closer and closer to God and to being a better person in my faith. This year, I became a worship leader which is always and will always be a rewarding and incredible experience. I found that when my life is centered on Christ, I live more freer and without worry. As it says in Psalms 37:5,

“Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him, and he will act.”

I am even trying to incorporate my faith in to many of relationships as well such as my friendships, my romantic relationship, familial relationships, relationships will elders and adults, etc. I have been blessed with so many great things this year and I know that glorifying Him will allow my eyes to see even more blessings in the year to come. 

GAME PLAN – I will start Bible Journaling. This concept is actually fairly new since it was once taboo to many Christians. Alex, the youth minister that I work alongside, frequently speaks on the importance of marking your bible and “wearing it down” to where people can tell how often you lay your hands on your bible by how worn it is. Bible Journaling is a GREAT and creative way to study the bible. A Journal Bible has extended margins for me to write in and make notes. I am buying a new bible like this one with one of my favorite people in the world. It’s exciting enough to start something like this alone, but I get to do this with another person which I know will be special and memorable.

4. Focus on Giving, Helping, and Loving

I believe my purpose in life is to help and impact other people. I find so much joy in interacting with others and helping them in anyway they need. This year, I want to try to take as many opportunities as I can to help the people around me – whether that be strangers, family, friends, etc. Helping and giving not only impacts others, but also most importantly impacts ourselves and our hearts. Another aspect of this goal that I am focusing on is loving and appreciating. Throughout the past twelve or so months, I have opened my heart to love more than I have ever before. There have been countless “heartwarming” memories with the people that are in my life currently and I hope by loving deeply, there will be more of those memories next year.

GAME PLAN – One of the things I definitely want to participate in this year is Habitat for Humanity. I participated in a project a little over two years ago, and it was great! In the future, I wish to go on a mission to somewhere in Africa or South America with someone I love. I’m not certain this will happen very soon, but definitely still something to look forward to. I also want to spend more quality time with the people I love. No phones, no electronics, just us. Another action I will be taking is continuing my journey as a worship leader. What is better than using your gifts to impact others?

5. “Getting Out There!” 

A big one for me. Anyone that knows me personally knows that during the school semester, I really focus on school and tend to push away anything else that takes my focus away from my studies. To my friends, I’m sorry for all the times I turned down your offers and chill time! This year, my goal is to GET OUT THERE. Go to concerts, stay out late, explore, everything I would always miss out on in the years before. I am finally, finally getting used to school and time management to where I am confident I will do fine with school and still have a little fun!

GAME PLAN – It’s kind of hard to have a game plan for this one since most of the experience will be a “in the moment” type of thing, but I guess there are a few things I can do. I want to make a list of fun things and places to go with my friends and family. Houston has so many great places to eat and explore. I need to take advantage of it! Another action I definitely will be taking is buying at least one concert ticket with my work money. I normally go to concerts with my family, but I really want to go with friends now.

So yeah guys! Hopefully I will be able to do all the things I want to do this year. I will be making more blog posts showing my progress with my goals, so look out for that. Anyways, I wish nothing but happiness and good times for all of you in 2016. Make it count! 

Leave a Reply

