June Buy-and-Try

Happy July loves! Throughout June, I tried a few things and also added a few to my daily regimen. Here are the products that I decided to try out this month:

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 12.00.15 PM

(starting from top left and going down the row)

1. L’Oréal Paris’ Infallible Pro-Matte 24 Hour Foundation 

This is one of my most recent purchases to the buy-and-try and sadly, I think this foundation has to be returned. The foundation I use currently, which most likely will become a “holy grail” in time, is L’Oréal’s Magic Nude Liquid Powder. The description of  Infallible Pro-Matte foundation that specifically reeled me in was the promised “24 hour coverage” and the fact that it is matte. In all honestly, I believe my current foundation lasts significantly longer than the 24 Hour Foundation above. My current foundation also, when paired with a light, light layer of Bare Mineral’s Powder Foundation to set, gives such an amazing matte finish. The finish of the Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation is pretty as well, but it is not the matte finish I was searching for. So even though this foundation did not work out personally for me, think of this review as just a further promotion for L’Oréal’s Magic Nude Liquid Powder 😉

2. L’Oréal Paris’ Infallible Pro-Spray & Set Makeup Extender Setting Spray

I bought this spray with the foundation that I reviewed above and I think I will be going through with this product and trying it out until it empties! Before this, I used the Elf Makeup Set and I wanted to try a new spray that isn’t $3 in hopes to find a better quality spray. Honestly, I think both sprays hold my makeup the same way, but since I am running out of the Elf Spray, I decided to keep on going with the new setting spray to just see if my love for it grows a little more.

3. 3D Crest White Luxe Glamorous White Whitestrips

I love these things! They’re quite pricey for the amount of strips in each box, but I can see a significant difference in the color of my teeth! Also, application is super easy and the strips itself were portable enough to stick it in my toiletries bag in my carry-on. This item will probably roll over to July just because I try to ration my treatments to 3 or 4 times a week to prevent changes in sensitivity, but overall these are a great product. I do recommend buying the 3D Crest White Mouthwash to maintain the color in between brushes.

4. L’Oréal Paris’ Original Voluminous Mascara in Black

What teenage girl doesn’t try a new mascara every time her old one dries out or runs out of product? Again, ANOTHER L’Oréal product… sorry, can you tell I like L’Oreal? Haha! This mascara is really something I decided to try on a whim in order to fulfill my Buy-One-Get-One-Half-Off Sale at ULTA. I really enjoyed this mascara. My lashes are naturally very straight, and I ultimately look for a mascara that can hold a curl and that focuses on volume. This mascara, however, gave my lashes a natural look that wasn’t dramatic at all and I surprisingly loved it. The curl is not as dramatic as other mascaras, but I love the baby curl it did give my lashes. Also, this is the mascara for you if you are looking for an applicator that can really get under your upper tightline and that can darken the lashes.

5. Lush’s Dream Cream Hand and Body Lotion

As you can tell from my previous posts, I have still been trying to fully get over an upper respiratory infection. You know the deal – coughing, running nose, sneezing, more coughing, etc. So all that nastiness was exiting my system, which directly affected my skin. Normally, my skin is balanced, not too oily not too dry, but with the respiratory infection, I found my skin to be EXTREMELY dry. In order to revive my skin while it repaired during the night time, I used Dream Cream. I found this lotion to work even on the face because of its thick consistency.

6. Cough Drops (CVS brand Honey Lemon Cough Drops)

Like I already explained in the last post, I was sick and was honestly coughing every 30 seconds. The coughing started to become uncontrollable and while I was laying in bed, and I really need it to stop. These cough drops vaguely taste like Vick’s if you’ve ever smelt that before, but it did help and I was thankful to have them when I was flying.

7. Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo

A new dry shampoo to try! If you didn’t know, washing your hair fully every day is actually more detrimental to the hair than beneficial. Washing actually sucks the moisture out of the hair and dries it out. I find that my hair tends to get slightly greasy when I skip a day of washing my hair, so dry shampoo is a must to make my hair looks like it is freshly washed and styled!

8. Maybelline Fit Me Concealer

My last buy-and-try item is the Maybelline Fit Me Concealers. I have two – one in a lighter shade to highlight the under eyes and one in a deeper shade to act as a liquid contour for the cheek bones and the sides of the nose. I do not have a heavy contour routine in my everyday makeup, but when I am going out to dinner or going to a special event, I tend to use a liquid contour with a beauty blender just because I feel that powder contours are a bit harsh. Very good formula and as long as you lightly set the concealers with a powder of the same color, it should wear nicely.

Alright, so this wraps up the buy-and-try series this month. I hope you enjoyed the reviews on each product, and be free to comment on this post if you would like to share your favorites for the month of June OR if this list inspired you to try any of the items as well! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

