Las Vegas Graduation Season

Sunrise picture at the airport before boarding the plane.

Well as many of you know just by my Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, etc… I was in Vegas for a few days last week! Yes, very exciting! Sadly, I was sick with an Upper Respiratory infection, Bronchitis, and a minor ear infection almost the entire time. Despite feeling ill, the family and I continued to make this trip a great one.

Giving Kamali’i the handmade lei after his commencement ceremony.
One of his friends blew up a double chin picture and put it on a stick! How clever! Taking notes for my next graduation.

The entire reason for visiting Vegas was to attend my cousin Kamali’i’s graduation and to just celebrate his accomplishments. I have know Kamali’i since kindergarten (in fact, we were in the same kindergarten class) so it was especially nice to be there at the end of his primary school journey for him! I’m sure we both have a lot more education to go through in the future, but nonetheless this accomplishment is worth being praised. I’m so very proud of him as well as all my other cousins and close freinds that graduated this spring!

Here is my little brother and I’s OOTD that day:

Jaycob (right) and I after the commencement ceremony.

I am wearing an incredibly soft black and white striped t-shirt dress (that believe it or not was) from Target with a simple pair of strappy black wedges. Jaycob is wearing a white floral-pocketed button up, black joggers from Pac Sun, and his new (insert name of shoes) that he bought the day before.

I was feeling VERY under the weather the night before, but easily transitioned into my happy semi-healthy self the next morning with thanks to my wonderful boyfriend who made sure to check on and talk to me on the phone while he was in port that week, hot showers, my mom’s night remedies, rest, and oh so wonderful z-pax!

As per usual, Vegas blessed my stomach with wonderful food. My family of course managed to go to L&L everyday we were there. The first day was a Chicken Katsu mini plate and a spam musubi for lunch and all kinds of great Japanese food for dinner. On the menu for the second day was a nice bowl of saimin and spam musubi’s again for brunch and a crazy set up with Hawaiian, Chinese, and Filipino food that night at the grad party. Kalua pig, beef broccoli, lomi salmon, lumpia, pancit, guava cake, everything you can imagine really! It was quite beautiful. The next day we flew out, but since the first fight that morning was full, my family had time to go out for a really great bowl of tonkotsu ramen and a mango passion slushee boba before heading to the airport for the second time that day.

Tonkotsu Ramen from Monta Chaya – cheap and yummy.

Also, I got a couple goodies and visited a new area on the trip. This time, we decided to explore the little shops around The Linq hotel and the High Roller Observation Wheel.

*Fun fact: The High Roller is the tallest observation wheel on the planet, a few feet higher than The London Eye!

In between the shops showcased pieces from Las Vegas’ graffiti artists, which fascinated me to all ends. The colors and artistry really was incredible!

A picture with one of the wall art pieces. Follow @the_isi_ group and @without_a_ruler to find more similar to this one.
My absolute favorite piece at The Linq.

In the complex, I found the Polaroid Photo Bar that conveniently printed any picture whether on Instagram, Facebook, or even on your phone, as a polaroid for only $1 an image. I decided to print out five of my Instagram pictures and they came out so cute!The trip was very fun for only lasting a few days. Traveling for family is my favorite kind of traveling, and I am incredibly blessed to travel the way I do for the people I love. Stay tuned this week for a blog post of my next adventure that actually started less than 24 hours after I landed back home from Vegas. Lemme give you a hint – clear waters and great food!

✽ Song Recommendation: Tee Shirt x Birdy

Leave a Reply

