Graduation + Semester Wrap-Up

It has been a while since I last blogged, please forgive me! This month has been absolutely HECTIC. Senior prom, Graduation, Finals, Birthday – so much to where my mind couldn’t even focus on one thing for more than 10 seconds. Great news though… I MADE IT. Thanks to my amazing friends and family, long 8+ hour studying days, and Spotify, I made it through one of the most busiest and exciting months of my life. So let’s talk about the two most important events of this month: Graduation and finishing up the semester.

May 15th, 2015 – Graduation

The day that brought so many emotions onto my plate without giving me warning, haha. I am officially a graduate of my early college program and I couldn’t be happier with the results after these past two years. Graduation is nerve-wracking enough, but I didn’t just have to graduate… I had to speak as well! Thankfully that night, I was given the privilege to represent my class as one of the salutatorians and also graduated Summa Cum Laude with a 3.96 cumulative college GPA.

11295589_1662848960605022_2901947265708461611_n
The famous cap toss!

It was truly such an honor to be apart of this amazing, amazing program. In the past two years, I have learned so much about responsibility and myself in general. Now I know exactly what field i’m passionate in, where I expect my life to be in the next 5 years, and ultimately what really makes me me. The students in my class also became my best friends that I am sure I will never lose. Here are a few:

A few of my best friends - (L-R) Austin, Lydia, me, and my roommate Michelle.
A few of my best friends – (L-R) Austin, Lydia, me, and my roommate Michelle.

In addition, I had around 20 family members who attended the ceremony. I could not be more thankful for all of the family that chose to fly 4,000+ miles to watch me receive all of these awards. The ceremony was so intimate and personalized to every one of my classmates in this program. It was perfect in my eyes. Also, like I mentioned before, I got to give a speech in front of the audience in the theater, which was one of the most memorable moments of my life.

My parents and I after the ceremony.
My parents and I after the ceremony.

As you can see, I was covered in leis. Couldn’t even tell that my ceremony was in Texas with all those leis, huh? Right after all of the seniors tossed their hats, I was greeted with many warm hugs and leis thrown around my neck by all of my family members young and old. It was such a great moment in my eyes, and to be quite honest… it pretty much was a blur because of how overwhelming that entire night was.

11143223_1662538077302777_55290626840197922_n
(L-R) Nana & Boompa (my grandparents on my Dad’s side), me, and Grammy & Pappy (my grandparents on my Mom’s side).

This day gave me that extra oomph to finish strong and I became even more excited for all of the amazing things that potentially will happen in the future. Extraordinary, I tell you!

May 15th, 2015 – May 17th, 2015 – Graduation Weekend and Party

What’s a graduation without a party with great company and some great food? After the ceremony and picture taking was finally over, my family headed back to the house to wind down for the next morning. Our trip back home, however, was a bit delayed because we ended up getting a flat tire on the way. It would be my family to get a flat tire right after graduation, right? That night just pretty much consisted of late-night Sonic drinks and showers.

The menu at Fielding’s.

The next day was laid back and consisted of just family, food, and fun (which is all I could ever as for lol). In the morning, we decided to get brunch at Fielding’s and spent the majority of the day at Top Golf for some outside festivities! It’s absolutely hilarious when all of your family, including grandparents, is trying to golf at the same time. Ended with a score of 68 which isn’t too shabby I feel. #3 of the group!


 

After we were all sweaty and exhausted from golfing, we decided to eat dinner at my favorite barbecue place – Rudy’s.

The next day, was my “grad party” that basically was my whole family again. This time CRAWFISH was on the menu! Luckily, that morning I had finished creating my study guide for the Economics final on that next Tuesday and writing two papers that were due that Monday. That whole day I was able to focus on family and just enjoy my graduation party. The day pretty much  consisted of talking story with the grandmas and eating my weight in crawfish, which is never a bad thing! The only picture I have of that weekend is of my beautiful cake. Have a look:

I returned to the college that next morning for the finals I had left over.

May 19th, 2015 – Goodbye Spring semester! 

Fast forward to Tuesday, where I finished my last final. Probably the best feeling a college student can have is the freeing feeling after Finals Week is officially over. I did it. It is so great to say that. I got through another challenging semester in one piece and from what I think is all A’s. My mom and Grammy and I packed up the rest of my dorm in under two hours, I said my “see you soon’s” to all my friends, the college, and the administrators who helped me along the way. Though it was tough leaving this program, I realized that I am ready for bigger and brighter things! Now, with all of the lessons in the past two years, I feel like anything is possible if I put my mind to it – no matter how cheesy and cliché that sounds!

IMG_2303

So goodbye to the college that I attended to and hello to the new college I will be attending next semester! As I said in all of my Instagram posts and Facebook posts, thank you to everyone who has helped me through this amazing experience. I wouldn’t trade it for the world and I am definitely, definitely looking forward to what is in store for me and all of my classmates in the future. Thank you also to all of the family who brought leis, traveled all the way here, and who just always have given me the utmost love whenever I visit or spend time with them. You guys make everything worth it. Lastly, thank you to everyone who wished me congratulations on my graduation. I love you all!

Leave a Reply

